Calling Me

A beautiful black raven is perched atop the power line outside the window where I am writing. She has been loudly cawing, drawing attention to herself and reminding me that she is there. Her call is insistent.

Two years of semi silence is a long stretch by anyone’s measure. Time is the most precious of gifts and it is disturbing to look back and contemplate time that has been lost. Time lost is time when we feel that we have not lived as fully, it is time when one does not feel enriched by creative endeavors, when creativity has been all but drained away.

However, in all honesty I cannot say that the past years have been a wasteland or that time has been lost. My losses have been immeasurable but I have not been at a complete standstill. Rather, some of the creative land that I had tilled has lain fallow while other things, like moving and creating a life for myself in a new place have taken a priority.

Perhaps if I till the ground here I will harvest anew and rekindle some of the old connections that have been a source of inspiration over the years.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anita Marie  On January 31, 2012 at 2:27 am

    Rekindle yes, but think of the new things you’ve experienced. Each one of those things will add a new voice and color to your work. I am looking forward to seeing that.

  • Sunshine  On January 31, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I am sure you will Heather. Sometimes silence is like the Alluvial mine in Lemuria: golden.

  • Sally  On January 31, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    My sweet Heather, you most certainly have been experienced more loss than I can even imagine. The flame of your heart’s torch has left burn marks and all of your soul has been busy with the healing process which is slow when your scabs get knocked off. Your field will eventually be fully tilled. But until then, planting one row at a time is difficult enough. You are a well loved farmer who has always been so incredible about sharing her secrets to a fruitful field. You are loved. Big hug!

  • Pelican1  On February 2, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    I am glad to hear your voice again. It has been too long absent.

    Lori

  • Traveller  On February 5, 2012 at 4:43 am

    I’m so glad to see that you are resurfacing after a “winter of discontent” and I look forward to hearing more of your adventures in your new home, a home that is entirely your own. Paint the walls purple if that’s what you want to do!

Leave a Reply

